Marple Formalizes New Government for 2012

Four commissioners were sworn in, and a host of appointments were made at a reorganization meeting Jan. 3.

BROOMALL–The new Marple government was formalized Tuesday night at the annual reorganization meeting of the Board of Commissioners.

First and Third Ward commissioners Joseph A. Rufo and Robert Fortebuono and incumbents John R. Longacre II (Ward 5) and Daniel D. Leefson (Ward 7) were officially sworn in on Tuesday night.

Sitting Commissioners President Michael Molinaro and Vice President John Lucas accepted nominations to continue in thir positions, in which Molinaro cast an eye to 2012.

"The wave of the future is sharing resources with other townships," the Ward 6 commissioner said, adding that the township hopes to use the leaf composting facility and as a template.

Molinaro said 2012 will also be a year of infrastructure improvements as well: renovations will be made to and the administration building, the will continue, and work on will begin.

"And we will fight untill no end," he added, to applause.

The commissioners also reappointed Anthony Hamaday as township manager, Sharon Angelaccio as secretary, and Adam Matlawski as solicitor.

The board then approved Joseph Mastronardo of Pennoni Associates as township engineer, James McCombie as alternate engineer, Dr. Michael V. Baio as police surgeon, James Capuzzi as fire marshall, Kerby Kerber and Carl Drake as assistant fire marshalls, 2nd Ward Commissioner Jan G. Ceton as emergency management coordinator, and James Castaldi and Karen Standen as deputy emergency management coordinators.

The board also named AJ Baker to the Zoning Hearing Board, approved two nominations for the Planning Commission, three to the Library Board, one to the Board of Health, five to the Park and Recreation Board, five to the Environmental Advisiory Commission, two to the Ethics Committee, one to the Corporation, three to the Historic Commission, two to the Leisure Services Commission, six to the Paxon Hollow Advisory Committee, three to the Pension Advisory Committee, two to the Ordinance Committee, one to the Property Maintenance Code Board of Appeals and one alternate member, one to the Radnor-Haverford-Marple Sewer Authority, 11 to the Senior Citizens Commission, one to the Vacancy Committee, reappointed Samuel Mayer to the Darby Cobbs Watershed Partnership and Crum Creek Watershed Partnership, and reappointed Kurt Lindelow and William Creighton as police pension and non-uniformed trustee members.

The board also announced all pertinent commissioner committee appointments and liaison representative duties.

The Workplace Safety Committee and Marple Township Tree Commission appointments will be finalized Jan. 9.


More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »